Easter, Freezer cooking, and sickness

Yup, sickness, you read that right. This momma has a cold. I started with a sore throat on Wednesday and it progressed to what I was afraid was Strep. Now it is Friday and I am on day two of an up-and-down again low fever with a stuffy/runny nose with a cough and sneezes but my throat doesn’t hurt! Yay, mini-win!

Easter was an overall good day in the White household. Big wanted to go to church (since it was our first weekend at home in a month and a half). So we did. He panicked! He’s never been shy or overwhelmed by people before but he panicked at the number of people who attended on Easter as this was his first year in the main congregation for Easter service and not in the children’s area. I felt so bad for him!

Easter dinner I made ham, mashed potatoes, and corn! 😀 So proud! I planned on making rolls but I was so busy cooking and baking that I just didn’t have time that day. While I cooked dinner my husband was working on the XBox live stuff trying to get a game that Big was trying to buy. So entertaining the boys was up in the air. Little started to build with his Lego Junior briefcase set and Big came over and started to build a funky wall with the Lego Juniors in the bin. *Note: Big has never been into Legos and Little only likes Legos if there are instructions involved!*

Little playing with Legos.
Little double checking the directions to build his building.
Little and Mommy
Little taking a Lego break for a picture with Mommy
Big & Mommy
Big, his funky Lego wall, and Mommy!

Although they were both super sweet and took a moment to do their favorite activity. Taking pictures of themselves with Mommy’s phone so they can look at it when it’s taken.


Now to one of my FAVORITE activities: FREEZER COOKING! Well to be honest, I love baking and overall I enjoy cooking but my favorite thing has become sticking stuff in the freezer! I’m a Pinterest addict (much to my husband’s occasional dismay) and there are so many hints, tricks, and recipes to use. So Easter Sunday I put a lot of my, I really want to do these things before this food I bought expires, freezer recipes to use!

  • First up: my husband’s favorite: Chicken Taquitos from happymoneysaver’s website! We tweak it a little to fit his specific preferences of course (shredded grilled chicken, no cilantro or chilis, and we use mild cheddar cheese) but still a favorite. {I would normally show you a picture because I love making these since it’s so easy but I forgot to take one!}
  • Next: a new breakfast go-to for me: Breakfast Burritos from momontimeout’s website! I followed the recipe pretty closely (except I only made 1/4 of the recipe to yield 6 burritos). I don’t like to tweak recipes until I’ve tried them the way they are written first. Next time we’ll add more eggs and a few less potatoes to ours but overall a hit for me! My husband runs twice a week in the morning and he normally makes breakfast so I’m not forced to eat cold cereal now if I don’t want to!
The burritos ready to be rolled.
All six of our burritos ready to be rolled.
The burritos setting the in the freezer
{Ignore the unorganized freezer} The burritos have to set in the freezer for an hour before they go into a bag.

  • I also made a batch of cinnamon rolls (which always yields a pan full to be frozen) and used a crockpot chicken fajita recipe but made it on the stove and it was AWESOME for dinner the night before!

Oh, wow! That was so much in one weekend! I will definitely be taking time to write at night instead of watching mind-numbing television as this is so much more fun! Is anyone else a Pinterest addict?

Leave a Reply

